SKOTY CHOPS INTRO

April 24, 2009

IM SKOTY CHOPS THE OWNER AND FOUNDER OF SKOTY CHOPS KUSTOMS. I AM SELF TAUGHT AND SELF DRIVEN. I STARTED OUT LOVING CARS AS A YOUNG PUP. I ALWAYS HAD HOT WHEELS ON MY MIND. EVERYTIME WE WENT ANYWHERE THERE WAS TOYS I HAD TO HAVE THAT HOT WHEELS CAR. UNFORTUNETLY I WAS ONE OF THOSE KIDS THAT COULD NEVER LEAVE ANYTHING ALONE, I USED TO TAKE MY TOYS APART TO MAKE OTHER TOYS. I LOVED SEEING HOW THINGS WORKED AND THEN PRETTY MUCH DESTROYING THEM. MOTORCYCLES, VOLKSWAGONS AND LOWRIDERS IS WHAT I SAW GROWING UP, SO AS I GOT OLDER I REALLY GOT INTO LOWRIDER MODELS.I WOULD SIT IN A CHAIR FOR HOURS AND DAYS JUST BUILDING A MODEL AND TRYING TO MAKE IT FUNCTION LIKE A REAL LOWRIDER, WITH REAL WORKING SPEAKERS TO HYDRAULICS MADE FROM TOY FROG LEGS, I TOOK A GOLD NECKLACE FROM MY MOM AND MADE MY OWN CHAIN STEERING WHEEL. I WAS ABOUT 10-11 YEARS OLD. AS I GOT A LITTLE OLDER I GOT BIG INTO SKATEBOARDING AND BUIDING LOWRIDER BIKES, AND YES I COULDNT LEAVE IT ALONE. BUY THE TIME I GOT FINISHED UP WITH LOWRIDER BIKES I WAS OLD ENOUGH TO OWN A CAR BUT NOT OLD ENOUGH TO DRIVE ONE. I USED TO OPEN THE HOOD, GRAB SOME TOOLS AND BANG AROUND ON THINGS TO TRY TO MAKE IT WORK. WELL THAT DIDNT REALLY DO ANYTHING BUT MAKE NOISE.
 THE NEXT STEP TO MY LIFE WITH CARS WAS MY VERY FIRST PURCHASE OF A 1967 IMPALA THAT I HAD BUSTED MY ASS TO BUY. I WORKED AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE, DOING ANYTHING I COULD TO RAISE MONEY FOR THIS CAR. AFTER ACCOMPLISHING THE PURCHASE THE CAR NEEDED SOME WORK, WELL HAVING NO MONEY TO SPEND, I OPENED THE HOOD AND FIGURED OUT HOW TO DO IT MYSELF. THIS WAS THE BEGINING OF A GREAT THING FOR ME. I LEARNED SO MUCH FROM THAT CAR AND DOING IT MYSELF IT LANDED ME A FEW JOBS BEING A MECHANIC FOR THE MY LOCAL CITY. AS I WAS STILL STRUGGLING TO BUILD THAT CAR I DREAMED SO MUCH OF IN MY HEAD, I KEPT TEACHING MYSELF THINGS, LIKE HOW HYDRAULICS REALLY WORK, HOW TO INSTALL THEM , HOW TO WIRE A SWITCH BOX ETC. I AM A GO GETTER AND WHEN I WANT SOMETHING OR HAVE A VISION I SEE TO IT THAT I GET IT OR GET IT DONE. THIS BEING SAID, THE ONE THING MY CARS ALWAYS LACKED WHERE PAINT AND BODYWORK. SO I MADE A CALL TO THE LOCAL HIGHSCHOOLS TO SEE IF THERE WAS A PROGRAM TO TEACH ME THESE THINGS AND THERE WAS, BUT THERE WAS A 2 YEAR WAITING LIST. SO I TOOK IT UPON MYSELF TO GO TO THE OPENING DAY TO HOPE THAT THERE WOULD BE A OPENING FOR ME, YOU NEVER KNOW. WELL GUESS WHAT? THERE WASNT! THE CLASS STARTED THE NEXT DAY AND GUESS WHAT? I SHOWED UP, I WAS ABLE TO BE A FUNCTIONAL STUDENT FOR 3 MONTHS WITH OUT THE TEACHER KNOWING I WASNT SUPPOSED TO BE THERE. EVERYTIME THE TEACHER TOOK ROLL I WOULD GO USE THE BATHROOM OR PRETEND I WAS SLEEPING. THE TEACHER EVENTUALY CAUGHT ON AND WAS SO SHOCKED ON MY DRIVE TO LEARN HE GAVE ME A REAL POSITION IN THE CLASS. IN MY PIC YOU WILL SEE A 1964 IMPALA CONVERTABLE. THAT WAS THE CAR I WAS WORKING ON IN THAT CLASS. I HAD WORKED PAINTING HOUSES DURING THE DAY AND GO STRAIGHT TO SCHOOL AND WORK ON MY CAR. I ACTUALLY QUIT MY JOB TO JUST WORK ON MY 64 IMPALA. I WENT TO THAT CLASS AT 8AM AND WORKED ON MY CAR TILL THE LAST CLASS OF THE DAY WHICH WAS AT 10PM AT NIGHT. I DID THIS FOR 8 MONTHS AND THEN I FINALLY FINISHED ALL THE BODY WORK AND HAD A FRIEND PASINT IT FOR ME. THE WAY I GOT STARTED WITH METAL FAB WORK WAS I HAD A 52 CHEVY AND WANTED TO BUILD A CUSTOM. I DIDNT KNOW HOW TO WELD AND MY BUDDY WAS GONNA HELP ME CHOP THE ROOF AND DO ALL THE WELDING. WELL I LIKE TO GET THINGS DONE, MY BUDDY DIDNT HAVE MUCH TIME TO COME HELP ME, I WAS GETTING PRETTY ANXIOUS AND HE DID LEAVE THE WELDER WITH ME. SO I PICKED IT UP AND TURNED IT ON AND WELDED EVERY DAY FOR A FEW DAYS TILL I FIGURED IT OUT. IT WASNT THE BEST BUT I COULD PUT DOWN A SWEET TALK WELD. SO I ENDED UP CHOPPING THE ROOF MYSELF. THE ROOF ACTUALLY DIDNT TURN OUT THAT BAD. IF I WAS TO DO IT TODAY I WOULD DEFINETLY DONE ALOT OF STUFF DIFFERENTLY. THATS HOW WE LEARN. AS I WAS WELDING, CHOPPING AND FORMING HAND MADE PANELS FOR THE FIRST TIME, I REMEMBER TELLING MYSELF THIS IS WHAT I WANT TO DO FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE! AFTER FINISHING THE CHOP AND GETTING THE CAR RUNNING THINGS STARTED LEADING MORE TOWARDS MORE WORK ON CUSTOM CARS. THIS EVENTUALLY LED TO ME HAVING MY FIRST SHOP BAY RENTED FROM A FRIEND. I HAVE CURRENTLY BEEN BUILDING CARS AS A BUSINESS FOR 6 YEARS NOW AND STILL GOING STRONG! EVERYDAY I LEARN SOMETHING NEW AND STILL STRIVE TO BETTER MYSELF DAILY. I THANK GOD FOR GIVING ME THESE HANDS TO BUILD CARS WITH, MY MIND TO CREATE, MY DRIVE TO FOLLOW MY DREAMS, AND I ESPECIALLY THANK GOD FOR GIVING ME A GREAT HEART AND KEEPING ME A VERY HUMBLE PERSON. I APPRECIATE ALL THE GREAT THINGS THAT HAVE HAPPENED AND BAD THINGS THAT HAVE TO ME. WITH OUT THOSE I WOULDNT HAVE LEARNED ANYTHING. I HOPE ONEDAY I CAN CHANGE A FEW LIVES WITH HUMBLENESS AND GREAT CRAFTSMANSHIP. A SMILE WILL GO ALONG WAY!

Leave a Reply

